MAFF Awards 2021

JURY 2021

Feature Film Jury

Palestinian director and producer Najwa Najjar
Saudi actress and director Fatima Albanwy
Moroccan film researcher Leila Charadi
Lebanese presenter Raya Abi Rached
Egyptian screenwriter Tamer Habib

Short film Jury

Lebanese director and producer Manon Nammour
Egyptian director and producer Maggie Anwar
Algerian film critic Faycal Chibani
Bahraini film critic Tariq Albahhar
Emirati actor Mansoor Alfeeli


Short Film Competition

– A special mention to “Al Sit” by Sudanese director Suzannah Mirghani

– A special mention to “Tuk Tuk” by Egyptian director Mohamed Kheidr

– Best Short Film Award (15,000 Swedish kronor) to “The Present” by Palestinian director Farah Nabulsi

Feature Film Competition

– Best Screenplay award to Ghazi Zaghbeni, for “The Dilemma” by Ghazi Zaghbeni (Tunisia)

– Best Actor Award to Salim Daw for his role in the film “Gaza Mon Amour” by Arab and Tarzan Nasser (Palestine, France, Germany, Portugal, Qatar)

– Best Actress Award to Naima Lemcherki for her role in “Autumn of Apple Trees” directed by Mohamed Muftakir (Morocco)

– Best Director Award to Abdulaziz Al-Shalahi for his film “The Tambour of Retribution” (Saudi Arabia).

– Special Jury Award (15,000 Swedish kronor) to “Their Algeria” by director Lina Soualem (France, Algeria, Switzerland, Qatar)

– Best Film Award (20,000 Swedish kronor) to “The Man Who Sold His Skin” by Kaouther Ben Hania (Tunisia, France, Belgium, Germany, Sweden)

– Audience Award (awarded by the municipality of Malmö with a value of 25,000 Swedish kronor) to “Curfew” by Amir Ramses (Egypt)


<< Back to Archive MAFF 2021